Road Trip Day 2 : Washington DC

Posted on

The last I left off was on Day 1 after a day in Philly we reached DC and had dinner at the fabulous meal we had in the 14K restaurant in our hotel in downtown DC. . Now on to Day 2 of our trip :

Just grabbed a simple breakfast of cereal and coffee and started our hike at 8 AM. We had an exhausting 8 hours on foot in DC. I have been there a few times before but never spent this much time on foot! We walked around for almost 7 hours and covered quite a bit. DC was gorgeous with the fall colors still intact. Flaming red and orange leaves with the bright green lawns and gardens, crisp and cold 40 degree weather made the walking more pleasurable.

Read more about my non food related experiences in DC in my truth blog.
After an exhausting 8 hours on foot, we landed for late lunch at a great Italian place called Maggiano’s. We had a great meal there. Definitely one of the best Italian restaurants I’ve eaten in. It had a huge dining area, friendly waitstaff, beautifully decoration, very laid-back and family type dining atmosphere.

One small setback was I forgot to carry my camera in there I was kicking myself for the rest of the day for this. I had to make do with my cellphone. Pardon the really bad pictures, but hey at-least I got something!

Their menu was huge. And the reason I was in there was because of their vegetarian options usually there are a token 2 vegetarian dishes , but this place had it really figured out! There were so many veggie options that I actually had a tough time ordering.

If you have been reading my food blog for a while you know how much I love zucchini and what better place to get Zucchini Fritters than an Authentic Italian restaurant?

They were just delicious! Crispy on the outside with soft,tender and juicy zucchini on the inside. It was served with a tangy wasabe cream sauce and sprinkled with fresh Parmesan cheese on top. Just phenomenal.

img00021.jpg

We also had the Bruschetta. Warm just baked bread, topped with fresh mozzarella cheese and juicy tomatoes soaked in with olive oil, garlic and basil. Sounds heavenly doesn’t it? It sure was! The really fresh ingredients made it so much better than the regular ol’ bruschetta I’ve had in many other places.

img00020.jpg

The next dish we had was Stuffed mushrooms. Once again, as some of you might already know, I am not a big fan of mushrooms I always try to avoid it unless I have no other food options! But my husband loves them, hence the order.

This is the second place I’ve eaten in where I’ve loved the stuffed mushrooms. The other one was Tartufo in Newton, MA. Anyway more about then later and back to Maggiano’s.
These were succulent mushrooms stuffed with garlic, butter, breadcrumbs, herbs and baked till soft and delicious!

img00019.jpg

Their fettuccine with pesto sauce was sinful. The fresh fettuccine drenched in cheesy pesto sauce topped with toasted pine nuts was comfort food at its best.

img00024.jpg

Their cheese ravioli in pesto cream sauce was great. A lot of times cheese ravioli tends to be mealy, over stuffed and too heavy but in this case it was just right. creamy, cheesy yet very fluffy and light.

img00022.jpg

Now these potatoes are just about the most novel way of serving them. They were whole potatoes baked in salted butter. The red skin was crisp and salty and the inside was soft, and yummy baked potato. I don’t know how they do it, but I would surely go back just for this!

img00023.jpg

img00025.jpg

Overall we had a phenomenal dining experience there. I will surely go back the next time I am around the DC area.

We headed out of DC after lunch at around 4 PM and drove to Wytheville, Virginia. Why Wytheville? Well that town is mid point between DC and Nashville, TN. We couldn’t drive directly to Nashville because that’s a 13 hour drive, hence the break in Wytheville.

The stopover there started as basically just a pit stop but it turned into so much more. We researched a bit on this town and came across a true jewel in a bed & breakfast inn called the ‘Trinkle Mansion’.

I have written all about them in my truth blog. Make sure you take a few minutes to read about them. The experience there was phenomenal. If you are ever around there, I 100% recommend you go stay at the Trinkle Mansion.

We ended Day 2 with a relaxing and energizing stay in Trinkle Mansion. We couldn’t wait to start Day 3 with the breakfast at Trinkle Mansion and head over to Nashville, TN.

Keep Reading for more……….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

