Fusili with Roasted red peppers in Tomato-Basil sauce

Here’s another one of my easy weeknight dinners. I call this my kitchen sink pasta. I threw in a few things that I had in my pantry and it turned out quite well! The only comment I have is that the next I try it, I will probably use fresh jalapenos instead of pickled. I personally felt the lime juice and pickled jalapenos made it too tangy. I would go for one or the other.

1 pound fusili pasta
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup roasted red peppers, thinly sliced (I used store bought)
3 tbsp pickled jalapenos, finely chopped (I used store bought)
1 tbsp lime juice
1 16 oz can black beans, drained and washed
1 tbsp basil pesto (I used store bought pesto)
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 cups marinara sauce (I used store bought marinara with onions and herbs)
1 tbsp mint, finely chopped

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Add the fusili pasta and cook until al dente(around 8-9 minutes). Drain and pour into a large serving bowl.

Heat a non-stick pan over medium-high heat. Add the extra virgin olive oil and garlic, fry for a couple of seconds and add in the washed and drained black beans. Sautee for another minute. Pour in the tomato sauce, add the jalapenos and heat it through for 10 minutes. Stir in the basil pesto, lime juice, roasted red peppers and sautee for 5-7 more minutes.

 Remove from heat and pour it over the pasta. Mix the pasta and top with mint and serve.

I have sent this recipe to Culinarty’s Original Recipes.

2842293537_d9ab780e99

3 thoughts on “Fusili with Roasted red peppers in Tomato-Basil sauce

  1. I just tried this recipe with Al Dente Egg Fettuccine and Monique’s Marvelous Marinara Sauce. It was amazing! Al Dente Pasta cooks in just 3 minutes and tastes just like homemade. Monique’s sauces are sweetened only with fresh grated carrot, not sugar or corn syrup like most. If not in your local grocery store, check out http://www.aldentepasta.com

    Like

  2. Kitchen sink pasta? LOL, I love it! You’ve got a little bit of everything in there, don’t you? Now I’m hungry for some pasta :D.
    Thanks for sharing it with the Original Recipes Round-Up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

