Bhajji (aka Indian Tempura)

I am stuck in the house because of the blizzard that’s hitting our town. What else is there to do but watch a movie with a bowl of something fried and crispy.

This is a common snack I ate growing up. It’s easy to put together and execute and all you need is some basic veggies. The classic bhajji is made with onions and potatoes. The great thing about this dish is that you could any vegetable you have in hand. Broccoli, cauliflower, eggplant, plantains, green beans, green bell peppers would all make great bhajjis.

100_6492

2 cups gram flour (aka Besan or chickpea flour)
1/2-3/4 cup water
3 tbsp cilantro, finely chopped
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1/2 tsp coriander powder

Mix everything together in bowl. Make sure there are no lumps and the batter is the consistency of  pancake batter, even a bit thicker. It should be thick enough to coat the vegetables when dipped, but not so thick that it makes the fritters heavy and mealy.

100_6437

100_6441

1 large Potato and 1 large Onion chopped into rounds about 1/4 inch thick
1 large green bell pepper, seeds removed and cut into 1/2 inch strips

100_6457

Fill a frying pan half way to the top with canola oil. Heat over medium heat for 7-8 minutes. Dip the veggies into the batter using a slotted spoon and gently drop them into the oil. I cook the onions first so the oil gets a great flavor from the onions. Then followed by the potatoes and green peppers dipped similarly.

100_6460100_6467

Drain them on a paper towel for a minute. Serve warm with ketchup or mint/coriander chutney.
100_6477
I am entering this dish into the EFM-Savories event hosted by SrishKitchen.

savouries-logo

I am entering this dish to the “Winter Treat” event hosted by Recipe Center.

winter-treat-logo1

14 thoughts on “Bhajji (aka Indian Tempura)

  1. You made it snow in your blog?!! just kidding! That makes these bhajis more enjoyable. Lovely pics. My fav are the alu, potato & eggplant….

    I was actually wondering how u must have been doing with all the power outage & stuff… I miss the snow of the north east:-(

    Like

  2. Soma, its snowing in my blog, its snowing like crazy outside, just bombarded with it everywhere : )
    The power outage was brief for us, but its mostly just the wind and the snow.

    This bhajji was seriously needed for this weather. Eggplant would have been awesome, I didn’t have it in stock unfortunately. I love eggplant and plantain!

    Like

  3. Supriya, thanks for visiting my blog. Need I mention that I am Supriya too :-) I am glad I found yours and you have a great blog going. The bhajjis look awesome.

    Like

  4. Hello, my namesake! You are the only other supriya I have personally come across in my life!
    I think you have a great site going as well and have bookmarked it. Glad to meet a fellow blogger and keep in touch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

