Beetroot and Potato patties

This recipe is for my friend Zia Bhaisa. She had requested me for more beet recipes and I say ” Ask, it shall be done” !

Here is a simple way of jazzing up beets.

bpp2

2 large beets,peeled & grated
2 medium potatoes, peeled & grated
½ medium onion, minced
1 cup panko/japanese bread crumbs
1 tsp salt
1 jalapeno, minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp cilantro, finely chopped
1 egg, lightly beaten
3 tbsp canola oil

Combine the beets, potatoes and onions, garlic and jalapeno in a large bowl. Mix in the bread crumbs, beaten egg, cilantro and salt until everything is well incorporated.

bppt1bppt2

Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat. Using 3 tbsps of mixture per patty drop four into the frying pan. Flatten each out with a spatula, and cook until just browned, crisped and cooked through, around 4 minutes per side. Be careful that the pan isn’t too hot, or the cakes will burn before they’ve cooked in the middle. When they are done on each side transfer them to papertowels to drain any excess oil.

bppt3bppt4

I served it with steamed brown basmati rice and my yogurt dip. Just plain ketchup would be great.

This dish goes to Culinarty’s Original Recipes.

2842293537_d9ab780e99

21 thoughts on “Beetroot and Potato patties

  1. I have never liked beets, but this certainly makes me want to try therm again. Thanks for sharing. You ahve some really intersting recipes.

    Like

  2. Thanks Mahima, a lot of people seem to tell me they don’t like beets, I wonder why : ) A friend from work said the exact same thing! This way is surely a good way of moderating beets thanks to the potatoes and garlic.

    Like

  3. Looks very interesting

    Glad I found your blog

    Although not vegetarian I do enjoy regular vegetarian meals

    Like

  4. Awesome! this is so similar to a street food we get in Bengal ( and also in all long distance train travels) & is a favorite of my hubby & me too. That one has carrots in it too. Put these inside a pao in the train & heaven! Thanks for getting me back there:-)

    Like

  5. The last pic is so mouthwatering! I usually only eat beets in salads so this is a must try for me especially because I love potatoes so very much, yum.
    Thanks for sharing your recipe with the Original Recipes Round-Up!

    Like

  6. Made this as a starter today for a getto and it was a HUGE hit. Everyone loved it. Your yoghurt dip is sheer genius, the combo was super :)

    Like

  7. HELP…. what am I doing wrong?? I tried this receipe but the mixture turned out to be a soggy mess…very wet, no matter how much breadcrumbs I added?? The patties, once I had fried them tasted good though, so next time I think I will boil and mash the potatoes and beets, then mash them together before mixing.in with the rest of the ingredients.

    Like

    1. Hi Vicky,

      In this recipe the all the ingredients are raw, including the grated beets and potatoes. Boiling them will only make them soggier.

      If your beets and potatoes are very watery even when grated raw just take a handful of grated beets and press gently within the palm of your hands and squeeze the water out. Do so in batches with the remaining grated beets and potatoes. Then you can combine all the ingredients together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

