Quick and Easy Pressed Potatoes

I tried this simple potato dish inspired from the great Jacques Pepin’s version. I took the pressed potato concept from the original and the commonality ends there. My version is spicy and Indianized. I don’t have anything against the original broth/rosemary and olive oil version but I was in the mood for something crispy and spicy hence the adaptation.

100_7012

4 small baby potatoes
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp red chilli powder
2 tbsp cilantro, finely chopped

Boil the potatoes in salted water for 10 minutes until cooked but not mushy. Gently press them flat without breaking or smashing them.

100_7006

Heat a large non stick pan with 2 tbsps of canola oil. Place these pressed potatoes in the pan in one layer. Cook over medium-high heat for 10 minutes until the bottom is crispy. Sprinkle red chilli powder and salt over it, turn over and crisp the other side cooking another 5-8 minutes. Sprinkle more red chilli powder and salt the other side.

100_7007100_7008

Add chopped cilantro on top and serve hot.

4 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Pressed Potatoes

  1. makes me want to grab them right off the pan and pop them into my mouth :)
    these will go very well with sambar rice… or better… curd rice :)

    Like

  2. Hey Supriya,
    I was just talking to H and forgot to tell him this. I made these potatoes yesterday, but I turned them into an Aloo-Tikki chaat. After taking the potatoes out of the pan, I arranged them on a plate, added green and date chutney, dressed it up with some chickpea curry and chaat masala. It was really good. Thank you so much. You are an inventor. I never thought there could be a simpler way to make aloo-tikki, without the mashing and the bread and other additions.

    Hope you feel better.

    Lakshmi

    Like

Leave a Reply

